Connecticut’s minimum wage effective July 1, 2022, is $14.00 per hour. However, it should not be mixed and matched with the federal wage, which is $7.25 per hour. If an employee is eligible for both the state and federal minimum wages, then he will be entitled to be paid the higher of the two wages.
Curious to know more about what’s minimum wage in CT? Here is the comprehensive guide outlining all essential aspects related to Connecticut’s minimum wage.
Can an employer pay less than minimum wage in CT?
No. The Act respecting labor standards states that employers cannot pay apprentices less than the minimum wage for any work unless their occupations are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under federal or state law.
What is the minimum wage salary CT?
The minimum wage salary in CT is $14.00 per hour. The Fair Labor Standards Act states that an employee must make at least $455 per week. However, the value increases to $475 per week under Connecticut Law.
Connecticut also requires employers to pay non-exempt salaried employees overtime equal to 1 ½ time their standard hourly wages, if they work more than 40 hours during a week.
The Minimum Wage in Connecticut for Different Categories
Before you prepare the moving to ct checklist, it is essential to understand the minimum wage criterion in this US state to avoid any trouble later on. Under Connecticut law, different minimum wages are set for different categories. Some of these rules are mentioned here.
1. Tipped Employees
Unlike Federal Law, employers in CT can take a tip credit for employees and the state doesn’t specify any minimum amount of tips. The tip value varies from one employee to another.
For instance, employees must pay a wage of at least $6.38 for hotel and restaurant employees and $8.23 for bartenders.
However, 18.5% of the specified minimum wage is allowed as the maximum tipped credit for bartenders and 36.8% of the applicable minimum wage for hotel and restaurant employees.
2. Minors under the age of 18
Minors under the age of 18 are paid around 85% of the present minimum wage, which can be paid indefinitely for minors working for the government or on farms. However, those employed elsewhere can be paid only for their first 200 hours of employment.
3. Employees Considered
The Department of Labor has specified a bunch of exceptions to Federal minimum wage law. Employees are generally considered exempt under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
4. Federal Contractor Employees
Thinking about what is the minimum wage in Connecticut for Federal Contractor Employees? The employers must pay them at least $10.60 per hour, effective January 1, 2019.
Will the minimum wage change next?
While figuring out about, Is Connecticut a good place to live or not, it is suggested to check the future changes in CT minimum wage as it might be the deciding factor for your move. Connecticut’s new minimum wage got effective on July 1, 2022, and will gradually rise to $15 on June 1, 2023, according to the law passed in May 2019.
How should small business owners prepare for changes to the minimum wage?
Small business owners should be aware of the CT minimum wage history to prepare themselves for further changes. The Labors Act respects the employees’ rights and states that no employee can pay less than the minimum wage. Hence, it is always good to plan ahead for the upcoming modifications in the minimum wages.
Scroll down the page and check the important measures you can take to get prepared.
Reevaluate your staffing plan
Worried about future changes in CT minimum wage and thinking about the moving cost from Connecticut to Buffalo New York to make a move? Consider reevaluating your current staffing plan and give your business a chance to survive in Connecticut.
To initiate the process, employers are suggested to determine their monthly sales and then check overhead costs. It should be done to evaluate if your current staffing syncs well with your monthly sales or not.
To accommodate the changes in the Connecticut minimum wage, employers can lay off certain full-time employees and opt for hiring employees. However, it is important to consider your business model first before choosing this contractual staffing solution.
Hire the right people
There’s no denying that hiring is a pricey and time-consuming process. Hence it is suggested to take your time and hire the appropriate people as it will help you save money and effort in the long run. Investing in the rightmost employee will benefit your business and help you increase your revenue.
Upgrade your technology
Technology has come a long way and is now helping businesses save both time and money by carrying out laborious tasks easily. Invest in modern technologies to grow your business while reducing your overhead costs.
Minimum wage in Connecticut FAQs
Did CT minimum wage increase last year?
Yes. Speaking of the CT minimum wage history, it increased to $11 in October 2019, $12 in September 2020, and $13 in August 2021. The minimum wage in Connecticut also went up to $14 per hour on July 1, 2022. It will again increase to $15 next June.
What is the minimum wage for waitresses in Connecticut?
The minimum wage in CT for waitresses is $9.15 and the minimum tipped wage is $5.78 to $7.46. However, Connecticut law retains $6.38 minimum wage for tipped workers, which includes restaurant servers. It implies that employers must pay these employees at least $6.38 per hour.
That’s it. We hope our guide has helped you answer – What is the minimum wage in Connecticut? The present minimum wage in CT is $14 per hour, which took effect on July 1, 2022.
This rise is in accordance with the CT legislation that calls for boosting the minimum wage by $1 every 11 months. Hence, it will increase to $15 per hour by June 1, 2023. Connecticut is one of the richest states in the US with the highest per-capita income.
So, what are you waiting for? If you are convinced with the state’s minimum wage, then pack your bags and make a move to the southernmost state now.